5 Ways I’m A Filipina At Heart

Even though I have lived more than half of my life in Kent, England; I will always feel that invisible string that connects my heart to my home, Philippines.

Moving to England at the young age of 8 made it easy for me to adapt to my environment, I already knew how to speak English before I migrated so making friends wasn’t a battle for me. There were other filipino kids in my year which turned out to be one of my life time best friends. We would speak in our own language on the playground and something about that familiarity made me feel safe and secure.

I may have a British accent, eat caucasian cuisine and dress like a white girl but here are the reasons why I’ll always be a pinay:

1) Expert At Eating Using My Hands!
If you have never been to an authentic Filipino Feast, then you need to – like, right now. It’s a tradition where piles and piles of food is generously laid out on meters of banana tree leaves for everyone to dig in and share! And to make it even more communal and fun – chuck the knives and forks away because in this meal you’re eating with your hands! However, this is a specific technique with how to eat with your hands like a pinoy but I’ll save that for another time. 
One way we can tell if you’re a true Filo or not is to get you to eat with your hands!

2) Nothing Is Funnier Than Filipino Humour

Vice Ganda. And pure Asian banter. That’s all.

3) I Still Use A Pale & Bucket In The Toilet…

I’m not sure if any of you are aware that Filipinos don’t just use tissue roll for when we take care of business in the toilet. We have our trusty companions the Pale & Bucket to to keep our down there refreshed! (I don’t want to go into too much detail but feel free to use Mr. Google for an in depth explanation.)

4) Rice Is Life

Rice and Life both have 4 letters. Coincidence? I think not.

I still have rice for breakfast, lunch and dinner. AND PROUD!

Even having the occasional rice pudding…

5) Respeto Sa Dios! 

“Respecting the Almighty” I grew up in a house where religion took precedence over any other principles. And I have my Lolo (grandad) to thank for that. In my opinion he has shone a light on me by constantly ensuring my feet stays on the ground and I have the right balance with freedom and morality. Without my Lolo, I wouldn’t be the person who I am now. Salamat sa pamilya!

3 thoughts on “5 Ways I’m A Filipina At Heart

  1. krispercb says:

    It’s always awesome to see people still value their roots after being raised up here in the UK. I see too many pinoys who barely practice the ‘Mano Pos’ and common manners. Anywaaays, I love this 😀 Astigeeen, keep writing! I’ll be reading. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

